How to think about causality

We must recognise that single events have multiple causes

A few years ago now, I went a bit mad. A relationship in which I was deeply invested had just come to a skidding halt, and I was desperate to understand why. Was it my fault? Was it hers? What, precisely, had been the cause? Racking my brain in search of some kind of coherent answer, I found myself lost in a thicket of competing ‘What if…?’ scenarios. What if I’d been a better listener? What if she’d never met that other guy? What if we’d had a comfier mattress and hadn’t been so tired all the time – could that have been it? ….[READ]

Leave a Reply

