Is our society the problem?

Why I Question Academic Research on Happiness

I spent most of my life in academia, so I know the research process first-hand. I know how a person can believe in their own objectivity even as they filter their findings through the lens of a belief system. I did it myself. The belief that unites academia is now known as “critical theory.” It rests on the presumption that “our society is the problem.” If you stay inside this thought framework, you can survive in academia. You can get credentials, funding, and respect. If you violate the presumption that “our society is the problem,” you are ridiculed and shunned. ….[READ]

Leave a Reply

