The rise of short-termism

198_ops_haldane

The Attention-Deficit-Disorder Economy

I was going to finish up this post earlier, but I got diverted on the Internet. First, there were those amazing videos of people snow-diving in Boston. Then I did an interactive quiz on Buzzfeed called “What Would Your Puritan Name Be?” Next, I got caught up in a story on Vice’s Motherboard site about extraterrestrial super-computer robots, which was actually pretty educational, or so I told myself as I tweeted it to other people who should have been working. Finally, I went back to the text of a speech given on Tuesday at the University of East Anglia, by Andrew Haldane, the chief economist at the Bank of England, that is causing a bit of a stir across the pond. Titled “Growing Fast and Slow,” it’s a characteristically sharp and erudite discussion of the forces that underpin economic development. ….[READ]

Leave a Reply

